Old news for some, but I need to mention this announcement from Microsoft a month ago (just for the record :-).

Microsoft described the next release through the following five focus areas:

  • riding the next-generation platform wave,
  • inspiring developer delight,
  • powering breakthrough departmental applications,
  • enabling emerging technology trends such as cloud computing,
  • democratizing ALM (application life-cycle management).

S. “Soma” Somasegar, senior vice president of the Developer Division at Microsoft, stated that:

With Visual Studio 2010 and the .NET Framework 4.0, we are focused on the core pillars of developer experience, support for the latest platforms spanning client, server, services and devices, targeted experiences for specific application types, and core architecture improvements. These pillars are designed specifically to meet the needs of developers, the teams that drive the application life cycle from idea to delivery, and the customers that demand the highest quality applications across multiple platforms. You can expect to hear a lot more about Visual Studio 2010 and the .NET Framework 4.0 in the coming months.”

The new version will feature modeling tools through Architecture Edition, enabling both technical and non-technical users to create and use models to collaborate and to define business and system functionality graphically. The new version supports both UML (Unified Modeling Language) and DSL (Domain Specific Language), so development organizations will have the right tool for the right job. Microsoft has already developed support for five types of UML diagrams, previous versions having only one type of diagram (Class Diagram).

UPDATE: The Visual Studio 2010 and .NET Framework 4.0 CTP has been released after PDC08.

Labels: , ,